Scenario 1: In-school classes

All students are required to complete the COVID-19 Alberta Health Daily Checklist before coming to school each day and follow the direction provided in the document if they answer "Yes" to any of the questions.

Back to all posts
Posted on

Online Resources for Home

Dear Parents & Guardians,

First of all, we want to thank you for your support during these unprecedented times.  
This has been a difficult time for all and we can appreciate the challenge of having active, eager to learn, children at home.  We miss our students dearly and yearn for the days when we are all together again. As difficult as this is for all of us we know it is for the best and wish you and your families the best of health and happiness.  

We are working with Alberta Education and other school jurisdictions in the province to determine what continuity of programming for students will look like and what the possible methods of delivery may be. It may take some time to determine how this will work for Northern Lights students.

 We want to ensure that we are able to provide students with opportunities that are valuable for them and that we will be able to provide on a consistent basis, while also dealing with the potential impact of COVID-19 on our operations, including staff who need to self-isolate or may become ill.

 Once we have a plan developed, we will share details with all of our parents and students.

In the meantime, we are sending you a list of free online resources to assist you at home in the meantime.

 

VARIETY

Scholastic Learn at Home: Day by Day projects to keep kids reading, thinking and growing https://classroommagazines.scholastic.com/support/learnathome.html

PBS Kids pbskids.org

BrainPop http://www.brainpop.com and http://www.brainpopjr.com

TeacherPayTeachers http://www.teacherpayteachers.com

GoNoodle: http://www.gonoodle.com/

Brain Games Sheppard Software 

http://www.sheppardsoftware.com/content/animals/kidscorner/kidscorner3.htm

   HEALTH AND PHYSICAL EDUCATION

Canadian Society for Exercise Physiology Movement / Screentime Guidelines 

https://csepguidelines.ca/

BOKS IS HERE TO HELP YOUR FAMILY STAY ACTIVE AT HOME https://www.bokskids.ca/boks-at-home/

Primary Resources P.E./ All subjects

http://www.primaryresources.co.uk/pe/pe.htm

Alberta Active After School - Games and activities for physical movements 

https://abactiveafterschool.ca/resources/

Canada’s Food Guide Recipes 

https://www.canada.ca/en/health-canada/services/canada-food-guide/tips-healthy-eating/meal-planning-cooking-healthy-choices/recipes.html



MATH

Prodigy: play.prodigygame.com

Khan Academy http://www.khanacademy.org

Funbrain https://classroommagazines.scholastic.com/support/learnathome.html

Math Playground http://www.mathplayground.com

Splash Learn http://www.splashlearn.com

Math Game Time www.mathgametime.com

 

 

READING

Squiggle http://www.squigglepark.com

Storyline http://www.storylineonline.net

Starfall http://www.starfall.com

Learning A-Z http://www.learninga-z.com

Raz Kids https://www.kidsa-z.com/main/Login

Highlights Kids http://www.highlightskids.com

Phonics Hero www.phonicshero.com

 

 

SCIENCE

Mystery Doug mysterydoug.com

National Geographic kids.nationalgeographic.com

Discovery Mind Blown http://www.discoverymindblown.com

NASA Kids Club http://www.nasa.gov/kidsclub/index.html

Amazing Space https://amazing-space.stsci.edu

Code Academy http://www.codecademy.com

How Stuff Works http://www.howstuffworks.com

Switcheroo Zoo https://switchzoo.com/

 

 WRITING

Typing Club www.typingclub.com

BBC Typing Tutor Dance Mat https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/topics/zf2f9j6/articles/z3c6tfr

 

SOCIAL STUDIES

History for Kids http://www.historyforkids.net

Smithsonian for Kids http://www.si.edu/kids

Crash Course http://www.youtube.com/user/crashcourse

TIME for Kids http://www.timeforkids.com

 

CRAFTS & ACTIVITIES

Best Ideas for Kids http://www.thebestideasforkids.com

 

We will continue to provide information as it comes in. 

 

Prev Post Next Post